4th Annual Meeting on RNA - From basic research to industrial applications

Danish RNA Society's 4th Annual Meeting on RNA will take place at Oct 9, 2018 at the The Ceremonial Hall (Festsalen), University of Copenhagen, Frue Plads 4, Copenhagen K .

Registration for the meeting is no longer possible. To see your registration details go here.

Members may see the poster abstracts here: here. 


 9:30 – 10:30                      Registration opens and coffee is served

10:30 –10:40                      Welcome and introduction (Jan Gorodkin & Asli Silahtaroglu)

SESSION 1:                         RNA as facilitator in Genome Function (Chair:Asli Silahtaroglu)

10:40 – 11:25                     Keynote Lecture: Andrés Aguilera, University of Seville: “RNA-mediated genome instability

11:25 – 11:55                     Henrik Nielsen, University of Copenhagen: “RNA guiding the way”. 

11:55 – 12:15                     Industrial talk: Lars Jønson, Roche: “LNAs in the sequencing space”

12:15 - 12:27                      Selected poster talk: Martin Jansson, BRIC, University of Copenhagen: “Dynamic 2-O-methylation of the ribosomal RNA regulates translation

12:30 – 13:40                      Lunch break

13:10 – 13.40                      Danish RNA Society General Assembly                                         

SESSION 2:                          RNA in Industry (Chairperson: Anne Breüner)                       

13:40 – 14:00                       Astrid Mach-Aigner, TU Wien/Novozymes’ collaborator: “Regulatory interplay of a long non-coding RNA and a transactivator in a filamentous fungus

14:00 – 14:20                      Marcelo Lanz, Kem-En-Tec Nordic A/S: “How to develop an RNA Preparation kit. Insights from our R&D Division”

 14:20 – 14:32                      Selected poster talk: Uthra Gowthaman, University of Copenhagen: “Elucidating chromatin regulation of transcription directionality

  14:32 - 15.10                      Coffee Break and poster session

 SESSION 3:                        Small Regulatory RNAs (Chairperson: Jan Gorodkin)

15:10 – 15:40                      Sine Svenningsen, University of Copenhagen: “Rapid and extensive tRNA degradation is an integral part of the bacterial stress response

15:40 – 16:10                      Christian Kroun Damgaard, University of Aarhus: “Circular RNAs and neuronal differentiation

16:10 – 16:34                      Selected poster talks:

                                              Mikkel Girke Jørgensen, University of South Denmark: "A small non-coding RNA controls the multi-cellular adhesive lifestyle of Escherichia coli"

                                              Laura Arribas-Hernandez, University of Copenhagen "New insights into the mechanisms and functions of the m6A-YTH module: lessons to learn from plants"

16:35 – 17:10                       Coffee Break and poster session. Cast votes for the best poster

SESSION 4:                           Single Cell Transcriptomics (Chairperson:Torben Heick Jensen)

17:10 – 17:40                       EMBO Young Investigator Lecture:

                                              Ana Cvejic, University of Cambridge: “Single Cell Analysis of Zebrafish Blood Development

17:40 – 18:25                       Keynote lecture:

                                             Rickard Sandberg, Karolinska Institute: “Deciphering transcriptional kinetics from single-cell RNA sequencing

18:25 – 18:35                       Poster price winner announcement and closing remarks

                                             (Jan Gorodkin and Sebastian Marquardt)

 18:45                                   Departure to conference dinner for the signed up participants.

                                             Venue: The Italian, Vester Voldgade 25, 1552 København

Organisers: On behalf of the RNA Society, Asli Silahtaroglu, Jan Gorodkin and Betina Wingren Jensen

Click HERE to see the poster