3rd Annual Meeting on RNA

Time and venue: October 10, 2017 in The Ceremonial Hall (Festsalen), University of Copenhagen, Frue Plads 4, Copenhagen K

Signup is now closed.


SESSION 1: RNA Bioinformatics: From structure to transcription (Chair: Jan Gorodkin)

10:20 – 10:30 Welcome and introduction to the Danish RNA society (by Jan Gorodkin/Sine Svenningsen)

SESSION 1: RNA Bioinformatics: From structure to transcription (Chair: Jan Gorodkin)

10:30 – 11:15 Opening lecture, Janusz Bujnicki, IIMCB, Warsaw, Poland: Computational modeling of RNA 3D structure and RNA- protein interactions
11:15 – 11:40 Robin Andersson, University of Copenhagen: A universal architecture of metazoan transcriptional regulatory elements
11:40 – 11:50 Manfred Schmid, Aarhus University: Estimating transcription, RNA synthesis and decay rates in yeast using 3’ end sequencing of nascent and total RNA.
11:50 – 12:00 Stefan Seemann, University of Copenhagen: Genome-wide predicted conserved RNA structures.

12:00 – 13:20 Lunch break
12:45 General assembly
SESSION 2: RNA in Industry (Chair: Morten Lindow)
13:20 – 13:40 Carsten Hjort, Novozymes A/S: Why would an enzyme company care about ncRNA?
13:40 – 14:00 Niels M. Frandsen, Exiqon: Antisense LNA tools – from basic research to drug development
14:00 – 14:20 Søren Ottosen, Roche Innovation Center Copenhagen A/S: Treating chronic HBV infection with antisense therapy: A model study

14:20 – 15:10 Coffee Break and poster session.

SESSION 3: Synthetic and cellular targeting of RNA (Chairs: Torben Heick and Asli Silahtaroglu)
15:10 – 15:35 Jesper Wengel, University of Southern Denmark: LNA (locked nucleic acid) for RNA targeting
15:35 – 16:00 EMBO Young Investigator Lecture: Ana Eulalio, University of Würzburg, Germany: Unravelling the role of microRNAs in bacterial infection by systems biology approaches
16:00 – 16:25 Ulf Andersson Ørum, Aarhus University: Regulation of miRNA biogenesis
16:25 – 16:35 Kristoffer Skovbo Winther, University of Copenhagen: Activation of the Stringent Response by Loading of RelA-tRNA Complexes at the Ribosomal A-site
16:35 – 16:45 Reyad Elbarbary, Penn State University: Tudor-SN-mediated endonucleolytic decay of human-cell microRNAs promotes G1/S phase transition

16:45 – 17:15 Coffee Break and poster session.
SESSION 4: Noncoding RNA and genome editing (Chair: Carsten Hjort)

17:15 -17:40 Sebastian Marquardt, University of Copenhagen: Rules and Roles of Non-coding Transcription
17:40 -18:25 Keynote lecture: John van der Oost, Wageningen University: CRISPR-Cas – from exploration to exploitation
18:25 -18:35 Poster prize winner announcement and closing remarks (by Jan Gorodkin/Sine Svenningsen)

 Download poster.