5th Annual Meeting on RNA: from basic research to industrial applications

Danish RNA Society's 5th Annual Meeting on RNA will take place at Oct 7, 2019 at the The Ceremonial Hall (Festsalen), University of Copenhagen, Frue Plads 4, Copenhagen K .

Registration for the annual meeting has now closed

New memberships will run from Sep 30, 2019 to Sep 30, 2020

Important Information:

Poster must be in A0 portrait format

Click HERE to download poster and to download programme HERE


09:30 – 10:30 Registration opens and coffee is served

10:30 – 10:35 Welcome by Jan Gorodkin and Torben Heick

Session 1 (Chair: Jan Gorodkin)

10:35 – 11:20     Keynote: "RNA biology on a microbiome scale", Jörg Vogel, University of Würzburg

11:20 – 11:50   "RNA origami: Design of co-transcriptionally folding RNA scaffolds and devices for synthetic biology applications", Ebbe Sloth, Aarhus University

11:50 – 12:20     Industrial talk: "Circulating microRNAs: non-invasive tissue- and mechanism-specific biomarkers for in-vitro diagnostics and drug development", Matthias Hackl, TAmiRNA

12:20 – 12:30    Selected poster talk: "Transcript isoform sequencing reveals widespread promoter-proximal transcriptional termination", Quentin Thomas

12:30 - 12:35     Announcements: 1) Meeting announcement by Jeroen Bakker, Novo Seeds. 2) Brief introduction to the Danish RNA Society Club by Nicolas Fossat, University of Copenhagen

12:35 – 13:30     Lunch break

13:00 – 13:30     Danish RNA Society General Assembly

Session 2 (Chair: Asli Silahtaroglu)

13:30 – 14:00    "In silico modeling and prediction of CRISPR-Cas9 off- and on-targets", Jan Gorodkin, University of Copenhagen

14:00 – 14:30     "Histone mRNA is subject to 3’ uridylation and re-adenylation in Aspergillus nidulans", Mark Caddick, University of Liverpool

14:30 - 14:40     Selected poster talk: “Confirmation and spatial mapping of diverse striatal cells identified by single cell RNA sequencing in the mouse brain at single-cell resolution with multiplex in situ hybridization technology”, Joan Raouf

14:40 – 14:50     Selected poster talk: “Mapping virus-host interactions at the RNA level”, Troels Kasper Høyer Scheel, University of Copenhagen 

14:50 – 15:20     Coffee Break

Session 3 (Chair: Sine Lo Svenningsen)

15:20 – 15:50    Sponging the system with RNA – modulating the levels, processing and efficacy of the key Gram- positive riboregulator of central metabolism RoxS, Emma Denham, University of Bath

15:50 – 16:10     Industrial talk: RNA-based drugs: from oligonucleotides to small molecules, Mads Aaboe Jensen, PhD, External Innovation Officer, RNA Molecule Research, Roche pRED

16:10 - 16:20      Selected poster talk: "Coordinated Assembly of RNA-Protein nanostructures in Eschericia Coli", Michael Truong-Giang Nguyen, Aarhus University 

16:20 – 16:30     Selected poster talk: "Fluorescent RNA-based biosensors with extended ranges of detection", Mette Jepsen, Aarhus University

16:30 – 17:15     Coffee Break and poster session. Cast votes for the best poster

Session 4 (Chair: Torben Heick)

17:15 – 17:45     EMBO Young Investigator Lecture: Time-resolved small RNA sequencing unravels the molecular principles of microRNA homeostasis, Stefan Ameres, IMBA, Vienna

17:45 – 18:30     Keynote:  Prediction of co-transcriptional RNA folding for Modeling Riboswitches, Ivo Hofacker, University of Vienna

18:30 – 18:40     Poster prize winner announcement and closing remarks Sebastian Maquart and Asli Silahtaroglu

18:40                 Departure to conference dinner for the signed up participants



The dinner is only for participants who have signed up and paid  the additional fee of 450 DKK (non refundable)

Venue: Restaurant Tight, Hyskenstræde 10 1207, Copenhagen from 7 pm.


Soya marinated salmon with chive emulsion, almonds and soya tapioca. 

Veal roast with stewed field mushrooms, Madeira reduction, small roasted potatoes and marinated berries. 

Passion fruit cheesecake on a crispy base with strawberry gelatin and crystallized white chocolate.

Please, inform us of any dietary requirements by Oct 3, 2019 by email to coordinator@rth.dk.


With the kind support of: